Standards-Based Grading: Preparing Our Students for the “Real World”?

PHYSEDAGOGY

About two months ago, my husband brought home his annual review (or employee evaluation) from work. I glanced over it and when I got to page three, I was shocked to find out his employer uses a standards-based assessment system to evaluate its employees.

I ran into the kitchen and exclaimed, “Wait! This is standards-based! This is standards-based grading! This is how I assess my students! Do other companies use this?” My husband said, “Uh, yeah, this is how every company I’ve worked for evaluates employees.”

It is? Corporate America uses standards-based grading to assess employee effectiveness?

View original post 641 more words

Leave a Reply

